HyreSolar

Equipment

Home battery chemistry: LFP vs NMC

We went looking for the comparison everyone makes and found that the documents do not support it.

Updated September 2026 · Data as of Manufacturer data sheets and installation guides read on 3 September 2026

Written by HyreSolar Research team Research and analysis

Audited by HyreSolar Research team Data audit and fact check

0 chemistry rows on one major product’s data sheet Verified by absence
None of them publish cell-level comparison figures So we publish none either
10 vs 15 years, on warranties for comparable products And one publishes no cycle figure

The short answer

You cannot make this comparison from public manufacturer documents, and the most useful thing we can tell you is why. We read the current data sheets for several major home batteries. Two state their chemistry as lithium iron phosphate explicitly. One of the largest-selling products does not state its chemistry anywhere on its data sheet at all: there is no chemistry row. And none of the documents publishes the cell-level figures a genuine energy density or thermal comparison would need. What the data sheets do support is a different comparison, and a more decision-relevant one: the safety-standard claims are worded very differently between manufacturers, the warranty terms differ enormously, and the installation restrictions differ in ways that may decide where a battery can physically go in your house. Those three are checkable, and they matter more to you than the chemistry does.

What we set out to do, and what happened

The question everyone asks about home batteries is lithium iron phosphate against nickel manganese cobalt: which is safer, which lasts longer, which packs more energy into less space. Every buyer's guide answers it confidently.

We went to the manufacturers' own current data sheets to answer it properly, and the exercise failed in an informative way.

Two manufacturers state their chemistry plainly. Both identify their products as lithium iron phosphate.

One of the largest-selling home batteries does not state its chemistry on its data sheet at all. We looked for a chemistry row. There is not one. That is a verified absence rather than an oversight in our reading, and it means a buyer comparing that product against a stated-LFP competitor is comparing a known quantity against an unstated one.

And none of the documents publishes what a real comparison would need. Cell-level energy density, thermal runaway onset temperature, cycle life at defined depth of discharge: none of it is in the public data sheets. Those figures exist in the industry, and they are not in the documents a homeowner can read.

So we are not going to give you the comparison. We could compute system-level energy per kilogram from the published dimensions and weights, and we have, and it would be misleading to publish it as a chemistry comparison, because those enclosures contain different inverters alongside the cells. That number measures packaging, not chemistry.

What that means when you read a buyer’s guide

If the public data sheets do not contain cell-level figures, then a page confidently comparing the chemistries on energy density or thermal behaviour is working from somewhere else.

That somewhere else may be perfectly good: academic literature, industry testing, a manufacturer's technical briefing. It may also be another buyer's guide, repeated until it feels established.

The check worth running is simple. When a page gives you a chemistry comparison with numbers, look for where the numbers came from. If there is no citation, or the citation is another article, you are reading something nobody has verified. And if you cannot find the chemistry of a product on its own data sheet, no comparison involving that product rests on anything published.

The terms, and which of them a data sheet will actually give you

LFP
Lithium iron phosphate. Stated explicitly on two of the data sheets we read. Generally described in the industry as more thermally stable and less energy dense than the alternative, though we could not verify either claim from a public data sheet.
NMC
Nickel manganese cobalt. Named constantly in comparisons and, notably, not named on the data sheet of the product it is most often attributed to.
Usable capacity
Kilowatt-hours you can actually draw, which is less than the nameplate because a reserve is held back to protect the cells. This is the number that matters and it is usually published.
Continuous power output
Kilowatts the unit can deliver sustained, as distinct from how much it stores. It determines what the battery can run at all, and it is a separate specification from capacity.
Throughput guarantee
A cap on total energy the warranty covers, expressed in megawatt-hours, or a cycle count. Where present it can bind long before the term in years does, particularly if you cycle daily.
Capacity retention
The percentage of original capacity the manufacturer guarantees at the end of the term. A term without one is a promise about time rather than about the thing still working usefully.

The safety claims are worded differently, and the difference is real

The standard everyone cites for battery fire safety is a test method for thermal runaway fire propagation. It is worth understanding what it is before comparing claims made under it.

It is a test method, not a pass or fail certification. It produces data at several levels of assembly, and that data is then used by others, such as code officials, to decide what installation conditions are acceptable. There is no "passing" it in the way there is passing a safety listing.

Now compare two manufacturers' claims, quoted as they appear.

One says its product "Meets the unit level performance criteria" of the standard.

The other says its product is "Evaluated to [the standard] for thermal runaway fire propagation and reduced separation distance as required in" three named code provisions, which it lists by section.

Those are not the same statement. The first asserts performance against criteria at one level of the test. The second says the product was evaluated and ties the result to specific code requirements it is intended to satisfy, including reduced separation distance, which is the practical thing a code official cares about when deciding how far a battery must sit from other things.

We are not saying one product is safer. We have no basis for that and neither does anyone reading data sheets. We are saying that "meets the criteria of" and "evaluated to, for these code provisions" carry different information, and that a comparison treating them as equivalent has flattened a real difference. If a battery's placement in your house depends on separation distance, the second form of claim is the one that speaks to it.

The comparison that does work: warranties

Where the chemistry comparison fails, the warranty comparison is straightforward, published, and differs more than anything else we looked at.

Three dimensions matter and most people only look at the first. The term in years. The throughput or cycle guarantee, which caps how much you may actually use it. And the end-of-term capacity retention, which is what the manufacturer promises the thing will still hold.

One product offers fifteen years, six thousand cycles, and greater than 60% retention. Another line offers twelve years against 43 megawatt-hours of throughput, with a newer model at fifteen years and 60 megawatt-hours.

And one of the best-known products offers ten years, with no cycle figure, no throughput figure and no retention figure published on the documents we could obtain.

That last one deserves a second look, because of an internal comparison within the same manufacturer's own range. Its battery carries ten years. Its rapid shutdown device, a far simpler piece of equipment, carries twenty-five. We draw no conclusion from that beyond the obvious one: warranty length is a commercial decision about expected claims, and a manufacturer offering ten years on one product and twenty-five on another has made two different judgements.

One further asymmetry is worth noticing about how these warranties are written. A term expressed in years is a promise the manufacturer controls least, since it depends on how hard you use the product. A term expressed in throughput is a promise about energy, which the manufacturer can price precisely. Where a manufacturer publishes both, it has bounded its exposure on two axes and told you exactly what it is offering. Where it publishes only years, it has either taken a broader risk or left itself room to argue about what fair use looked like, and a buyer cannot tell which from the outside.

The throughput figure is the one to insist on if it is missing. A fifteen-year term with a six thousand cycle limit is a different product from a fifteen-year term with no limit, and if you intend to cycle a battery daily for arbitrage rather than holding it for occasional backup, the cycle or throughput cap may bind long before the years do.

Warranty terms as published

ProductTermCycle or throughput guaranteeEnd-of-term retention
Enphase IQ Battery 5P15 years6,000 cyclesGreater than 60% retention
FranklinWH aPower12 years43 MWh throughputNot captured
FranklinWH aPower 215 years60 MWh throughputNot captured
Tesla Powerwall 310 yearsNone publishedNone published

From manufacturer data sheets and published warranty documents obtained September 2026. "Not captured" means the figure was not recorded in our reading rather than that it does not exist.

The row with three blanks is the one to ask about. A term with no cycle, throughput or retention figure alongside it is a promise about time rather than about use, and those are different guarantees.

Where you are allowed to put it, which differs by manufacturer

Permitted installation location is the dimension buyers discover last and it can determine whether a product works for your house at all.

One manufacturer's installation guide carries a boxed warning banning installation in habitable space. It specifies garages and sheds, or locations more than a stated distance from dwelling units, and sets out clearances: a margin around the unit, a larger clearance in front, a minimum gap between multiple units, a height requirement where the installation is in a vehicle path, and a structural requirement for blocked studs given the unit's weight.

Other manufacturers' data sheets say only that the product is indoor and outdoor rated.

Silence is not permission. A data sheet that does not restrict indoor installation is not a document authorising it, because the governing restrictions may live in an installation manual we could not obtain, in the fire code your jurisdiction has adopted, or in what a local official will approve. We could not obtain the installation manuals for two of the products, and we say so rather than reading their brevity as latitude.

The practical consequence is that this is a question for your installer and your building department, not for a comparison table. Ask where the specific product may be placed in your specific house, and ask which document says so.

What to actually ask, given all this

  1. 1
    Ask what chemistry the product is, and ask for the document that says so

    If a manufacturer states it on the data sheet, that is settled. If it does not, that is worth knowing, and worth asking why. A salesperson’s answer is not a document.

  2. 2
    Ask for the warranty term, the cycle or throughput cap, and the retention figure

    All three. A term without a throughput figure is a promise about time rather than about use, and if you plan to cycle daily rather than hold for backup, the cap is the number that binds.

  3. 3
    Ask how the safety-standard claim is worded, and read it yourself

    The difference between "meets the performance criteria of" and "evaluated to, for these specific code provisions including reduced separation distance" is real, and the second speaks to where the unit may be installed.

  4. 4
    Ask where it may be placed, and which document says so

    One manufacturer’s guide bans habitable-space installation outright with specific clearances. Others are silent. Silence is not permission, and your fire code and building official have views that the data sheet does not record.

  5. 5
    Ask what continuous power it delivers, not just how much it stores

    Capacity in kilowatt-hours tells you how long. Continuous output in kilowatts tells you what it can run at all. A battery that stores plenty but cannot start a well pump or an air conditioning compressor may not do the job you bought it for.

  6. 6
    Be sceptical of any chemistry comparison with numbers and no citation

    The public data sheets do not contain cell-level figures. A confident comparison is drawing on something else, and it is worth knowing whether that something else is research or repetition.

Method and limitations

What was read

Current manufacturer data sheets for several major home battery products, plus one manufacturer's quick install guide in full for the installation restrictions and clearances, and published warranty terms where obtainable.

Where a figure is described as not captured or not obtained, that means our reading did not reach it rather than that it does not exist.

What we deliberately do not publish, and why

Any cell-level energy density comparison between chemistries. No public data sheet we read supports one. We could compute system-level energy per kilogram from published dimensions and weights, and it would be misleading, because those enclosures contain different inverters alongside the cells. It would measure packaging and be read as chemistry.

Any thermal runaway onset temperature. Not published in any document we obtained, and it is exactly the sort of figure that gets repeated between buyer's guides without a source.

Any statement that one product is safer than another. We have differently worded claims against a test method that produces data rather than a verdict. That is not a basis for ranking safety and we are not going to pretend it is.

What we could not obtain

Installation manuals for two of the products, and warranty documents for one, were not reachable. Their sites refused every request from our environment and archives held no usable copy. That is why the installation section describes one manufacturer's restrictions in detail and says the others are silent, rather than presenting a comparison.

We also note that one manufacturer's own product page carried inconsistent weight units, which is a reason to verify a specification against more than one document before relying on it.

The honest summary

This page does not answer the question in its title, and that is the finding. The chemistry comparison a buyer is invited to make is not supported by the documents the buyer can read. What is supported, and what we think matters more to a purchase decision, is the warranty, the wording of the safety claim, and where the thing is allowed to go.

Questions

Is LFP safer than NMC?
We cannot tell you from public documents, and we are not going to repeat a comparison we could not source. No manufacturer data sheet we read publishes thermal runaway onset temperatures or the cell-level figures such a comparison needs. What we can tell you is that the safety-standard claims are worded differently between manufacturers, and that the standard involved is a test method producing data rather than a pass or fail.
What chemistry is my battery?
Check the data sheet, and be aware you may not find out. Two manufacturers we read state lithium iron phosphate explicitly. One of the largest-selling home batteries does not state its chemistry on its data sheet at all; there is no chemistry row. If it matters to you, ask for the document that states it rather than accepting a verbal answer.
Which battery holds more energy for its size?
We are not publishing that comparison. We could compute energy per kilogram from published dimensions and weights, and it would mislead, because the enclosures contain different inverters alongside the cells. The result would measure packaging and be read as chemistry, which is worse than saying nothing.
What does the fire safety standard actually certify?
Nothing, in the pass or fail sense. It is a test method for thermal runaway fire propagation that produces data at several levels of assembly, which others then use to decide acceptable installation conditions. That is why the wording of a manufacturer’s claim matters: "meets the performance criteria of" and "evaluated to, for these code provisions" say different things.
How long are home battery warranties?
They vary more than any other specification we compared. We found fifteen years with a six thousand cycle limit and greater than 60% retention, twelve and fifteen year terms tied to throughput in megawatt-hours, and a ten-year term with no cycle, throughput or retention figure published in the documents we could obtain.
Why does the throughput figure matter?
Because it caps how much you can actually use the battery. A fifteen-year term with a six thousand cycle limit and a fifteen-year term with no limit are different products. If you intend to cycle daily rather than hold for occasional backup, the cycle or throughput cap will very likely bind before the years do.
Can I put a battery in my house?
It depends on the product, your fire code and your building official, and the answer differs by manufacturer. One installation guide we read carries a boxed warning banning habitable-space installation with specific clearances. Other data sheets say only that the product is indoor and outdoor rated, and silence in a data sheet is not permission.
What should I compare instead of chemistry?
Warranty term with its cycle or throughput cap and retention figure; how the safety-standard claim is worded and whether it addresses separation distance; where the product may physically be installed; and continuous power output rather than only stored capacity. All four are published, checkable, and more relevant to your decision than a chemistry label.

Written and audited by

HyreSolar Research

Primary-source research, data analysis and fact checking

We are a research desk, not a sales floor. We read the statute, the tariff, the code section, the federal filing or the manufacturer data sheet ourselves, and we publish the figure with the document it came from and the date we retrieved it. Where a number cannot be traced to a primary source, we publish the shorter page and say what we could not verify. That rule has cost us whole sections, and it is the reason the rest can be trusted.

160
primary sources read and cited
220
figures with a retrieval date
115
federal and state government sources
66
researched pages published

How this desk works

  • Primary sources only. Statutes from the legislature’s own publishing system, federal data from the agency that collects it, code text from the adopted edition, manufacturer claims from the data sheet. We do not cite an article that cites a source; we go and read the source.
  • Every figure carries its provenance. A named document and the date we retrieved it, so you can check it and so you know how old it is. Retrieval dates are not decoration: an EIA rate from May is a different fact from an EIA rate from August.
  • We publish what we could not verify. Every research page carries a section naming the things we tried to establish and could not, and why. A paywalled standard, a state website that refused the request, a manufacturer that publishes no figure at all.
  • We separate measurement from modelling from our own reasoning, and label which is which on the page. A laboratory measurement, an assumption inside a modelling tool and our own inference are three different kinds of claim and they are never presented as one.
  • We do not sell solar, and we take no payment for placement, ranking or a favourable mention. Nobody buys a position on this site.

Data as of Manufacturer data sheets and installation guides read on 3 September 2026. Authorship on this site is organisational: the analysis belongs to the desk rather than to a named individual, and we do not publish credentials we do not hold. Our editorial policy sets out how we source, date and correct what we publish.

Sources & retrieval dates

  1. Enphase IQ Battery 5P data sheet and Quick Install Guide — Source for the explicit statement of lithium iron phosphate chemistry, the warranty terms of fifteen years, six thousand cycles and greater than 60% capacity retention, the safety-standard claim wording referencing evaluation for thermal runaway fire propagation and reduced separation distance against named code provisions, and the boxed installation warning banning habitable-space installation together with its clearance and structural requirements. Retrieved 3 September 2026.
  2. Tesla Powerwall 3 Datasheet — Source for the verified absence of any chemistry statement, for the safety-standard claim wording that the product meets the unit level performance criteria, for the ten-year warranty term with no cycle, throughput or retention figure published, and for the twenty-five year term on the associated rapid shutdown device. Retrieved 3 September 2026.
  3. FranklinWH Franklin Home Power data sheet — Source for the explicit statement of lithium iron phosphate chemistry and for the warranty terms expressed as twelve years against 43 megawatt-hours of throughput, with the successor model at fifteen years and 60 megawatt-hours. Retrieved 3 September 2026.

Comparing two battery quotes?

Send us both. We will tell you which specifications are actually comparable, what each warranty caps, and what to ask about installation location before the design is fixed.

Compare two quotes Open the calculators

HyreSolar is an independent analysis and matching service. We are not an installer, lender or utility. When a reader asks to be introduced, installers may pay us a referral fee. That fee never buys ranking, scores or placement in research. Our editorial policy sets out the rules.