HyreSolar

Hiring and verification

Solar sales regulation by state: who licenses the salesperson

Almost every state licenses the contractor who installs your system. Far fewer license the person who sells it to you, and that gap is where most of the trouble lives.

Updated September 2026 · Data as of statutes, enrolled bill text and agency pages read on 2 September 2026

Written by HyreSolar Research team Research and analysis

Audited by HyreSolar Research team Data audit and fact check

1 state with a solar-specific salesperson licence Texas, live 1 Sept 2026
2 regulatory designs, not one License the person, or name them and make them liable
15 business days in the most generous state North Dakota, buyers 65 or over

The short answer

Two different regulatory designs exist and they are easy to confuse. Texas, California and Maryland license the person who sells you solar. Washington instead regulates the conduct: it defines a solar energy salesperson, requires them to be named in the contract, and makes them personally liable, without licensing them at all. So "does my state license the seller" and "does my state hold the seller accountable" have different answers, and only Texas has a solar-specific licence. On cancellation, the federal three business days is a floor and several states go well past it: North Dakota gives buyers aged 65 or over fifteen business days, Kentucky gives ten where the loan is secured by the home, and Texas gives five for residential solar. Washington's 2024 solar statute is the most demanding we read, and forbids taking any payment at all before the window expires. We read nine states' statutes in full and we name every state we could not check rather than filling in a table.

The gap this page is about

Every state regulates who may install a solar system, because installation is electrical and structural work and contractor licensing is old, settled law. Far fewer states regulate who may sell one.

That asymmetry matters because the two roles have come apart. The person who arrives at your door is frequently not an employee of the company whose licence will appear on the permit, and may work for a business that never touches a roof. When the seller is unregulated, the only accountability runs through the contractor, who did not make the representations that got you to sign.

Three states have closed the gap, by two different routes and with different coverage. One state that regulates solar heavily has pointedly not closed it. That is the map, and it is genuinely small.

Does the state license the seller, or hold them accountable another way?

StateRegisters the seller?RouteWhat it is called
TexasYesSolar-specific statute, in force 1 September 2026Solar salesperson, registered with TDLR
CaliforniaYesHome improvement licensing; solar named in the statuteHome improvement salesperson, registered with CSLB
MarylandYes, subject to a carve-outHome improvement licensing; solar confirmed in scopeSalesperson licence, Maryland Home Improvement Commission
WashingtonNo, and it does something else insteadSolar-specific statute regulating conduct rather than licensingDefines a “solar energy salesperson”, names them in the contract and makes them personally liable
ArizonaNoContractor-side onlySolar contractor qualification, but no seller registration
Every other stateNot establishedEither unreachable or not checkedSee the gaps section below

Sources cited in full below. Verified by reading the statutes rather than agency summaries.

Washington is the row that changes the question. A state can decline to license sellers and still regulate them harder than a state that licenses them. Reading this table only for the yeses would miss that entirely.

Texas built a whole regulatory chapter, and it just switched on

In 2025 the Texas Legislature passed SB 1036, the Residential Solar Retailer Regulatory Act, now Chapter 1806 of the Occupations Code. It passed the Senate 22 to 8 and the House 94 to 37. It is the most substantial piece of solar sales regulation any state has enacted, and it arrived in two stages.

The contract rules came into force on 1 September 2025. The registration regime and the enforcement powers came into force on 1 September 2026, which was yesterday relative to this page's publication date. Anyone writing about Texas solar sales from a source older than this week is describing a different legal position.

The chapter applies to contracts entered into on or after the effective date, so it does not reach back over agreements already signed.

How Chapter 1806 came into force

  1. 7 April 2025

    Passed the Senate

    Yeas 22, Nays 8.

  2. 23 May 2025

    Passed the House

    Yeas 94, Nays 37, two present not voting.

  3. 1 September 2025

    Contract rules take effect

    Required contract provisions under § 1806.155 and the five-business-day right to cancel under § 1806.156 begin applying to new agreements.

  4. 1 June 2026

    Rulemaking deadline

    The Commission was required to adopt implementing rules by this date. They sit at 16 Texas Administrative Code Chapter 71.

  5. 1 September 2026

    Registration and enforcement begin

    Sections 1806.101 and 1806.102 and the whole of Subchapter E take effect. Selling residential solar for compensation without a registration is now a violation.

  6. 1 November 2026

    Enforcement suspension ends

    TDLR is temporarily suspending enforcement of two rules, § 71.41 on contract disclosures and § 71.43 on educational materials, until this date. Check the programme page for the current position before relying on this.

What Chapter 1806 actually requires

ProvisionRequirementCitation
Who may installThe agreement must provide that installation will be performed by an electrical contractor, and must conspicuously state that contractor’s name and licence number. A list to choose from satisfies this.§ 1806.155(a)
Permits and interconnectionThe agreement must provide that the retailer or contractor will obtain any required permit and the serving utility’s or cooperative’s interconnection approval.§ 1806.155(a)(3)
The loan dies with the contractWhere an affiliated or referred third-party lender is involved, the agreement must require that lender to cancel the accompanying loan if the buyer cancels.§ 1806.155(c)
Right to cancelFive business days from execution, without penalty or further obligation, by written notice. Saturday, Sunday and legal holidays are all excluded from the count.§ 1806.156(b)
The deadline must be written downThe agreement must state the last calendar date of the cancellation period and the mailing or email address for the notice.§ 1806.156(c)
If they leave the address outThe buyer may cancel by any reasonable method. An omission by the seller widens the buyer’s options rather than narrowing them.§ 1806.156(d)
Salesperson registrationA person may not engage in residential solar retail for compensation unless acting for a registered retailer and registered as a solar salesperson. Must be a natural person.§§ 1806.101, 1806.103(b)
Retailer registration and supervisionA retailer must register, name each salesperson and each controlling person, carry insurance, supervise its salespeople and be responsible for their violations.§§ 1806.102, 1806.104, 1806.152
No soliciting means no solicitingA person may not engage in residential solar retail at a residence in violation of posted signage indicating that soliciting is prohibited, unless an occupant directs otherwise.§ 1806.201(4)
No false utility or government affiliationA person may not falsely state or imply an affiliation with a public utility or government agency.§ 1806.201(2)

Source: enrolled text of S.B. 1036, 89th Texas Legislature, Regular Session (2025), codified at Occupations Code Chapter 1806. The Texas statute site returns a JavaScript shell to automated retrieval, so the enrolled bill text was used; it is the same operative language.

The no-soliciting provision is the one worth knowing as a homeowner. From 1 September 2026 a posted sign carries legal weight against solar canvassers in Texas specifically.

What Texas can do about it

Enforcement sits with the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. The civil penalty is capped at $2,500 per violation, or $50,000 in the aggregate for all violations of a similar nature. Where a court finds that an individual over the age of 65 was harmed at the time of the violation, those caps rise to $10,000 per violation and $100,000 in the aggregate. The same age factor may be considered in setting an administrative penalty.

TDLR may also order cancellation of the agreement and refund of amounts actually paid after notice and hearing, and doing so does not bar a separate court action for other damages. It may issue a warning letter directing corrective action before penalising, and it may issue a cease and desist order.

One precision point, because it is routinely got wrong in summaries. The statute does not name a dedicated penalty for selling without a registration. Unregistered selling is caught by the general prohibition on violating the chapter, which routes to the caps above. Those are caps rather than fixed fines.

Two things a Texas homeowner can do with this today: check a retailer or salesperson against the TDLR licence search before signing anything, and file a complaint with TDLR if something has already gone wrong.

One exemption that swallows part of the Texas scheme

If an electrical contractor employs the person doing the selling, the electrical contractor is exempt from solar retailer registration and from the insurance requirement, and the individual is exempt from salesperson registration.

The contract provisions and the five-day cancellation right still apply. But the registration you would check before signing may simply not exist for that seller, which is worth knowing before you conclude that an absent registration means something is wrong.

Chapter 1806 also does not cover systems under one kilowatt, systems for temporary or emergency use or a single appliance, commercial systems, multifamily buildings over four units or four storeys, solar sold with new residential construction, or agreements signed before 1 September 2025.

California got there first, without ever saying the word solar

California does not have a solar salesperson licence. It has something older that catches solar sellers anyway, and in one respect it bites harder than the Texas scheme.

The route is a definition. "Home improvement" in the Business and Professions Code "shall include, but not be limited to, the construction, erection, installation, replacement, or improvement of… solar energy systems". Once solar is a home improvement, the home improvement salesperson rules apply to the person selling it.

A home improvement salesperson must register with the board in order to engage in the business of "soliciting, selling, negotiating, or executing contracts for home improvements… on behalf of a home improvement contractor". Before any solicitation, that person must identify to the homeowner "the business name and license number of the contractor they are representing for the purposes of that transaction". Applicants must furnish a full set of fingerprints, and the board obtains state and federal criminal history including subsequent arrest information.

Selling without that registration is a misdemeanour. And there is a consequence that runs directly to the homeowner rather than to the state: any security interest taken by the contractor is unenforceable if the person who solicited the contract was not a duly registered salesperson, or exempt, at the time you signed.

That last provision is unusual and worth understanding. Most licensing rules are enforced by a regulator against a licensee. This one changes what the contract is worth in the homeowner's hands.

Two limits to note. There is an appointment-setter exemption: a canvasser contacting you "for the exclusive purpose of scheduling appointments" for a registered salesperson does not themselves need to register. The person who actually pitches and closes does. And corporate officers of record, LLC managers and members of record, general partners on the licence record, and the licence's qualifying person are all exempt.

Maryland licenses the seller, with a carve-out you have to read alongside it

Maryland requires a licence to sell. "Except as otherwise provided in this title, a person must have a salesperson license or contractor license whenever the person sells a home improvement in the State." Selling is defined broadly: to negotiate or offer to negotiate a home improvement contract, or to seek to get one. Applicants must pass an examination before applying, and every home improvement contract must state the name and licence number of each salesperson who solicited or sold it. The Maryland Home Improvement Commission lets consumers check a contractor or a salesperson.

Solar is in scope, and the statute presupposes it directly: a separate provision requires that "a home improvement contract for the installation of a solar energy generating system on the roof of a building shall include the installation of a barrier… to prevent wildlife intrusion".

Maryland also does something no other state we checked does. The same section requires that a home improvement contract for rooftop solar "shall include the installation of a barrier that meets industry standards to prevent wildlife intrusion and damage to the solar energy generating system or the underlying roof". Birds and rodents nesting under an array is a real problem that damages both the system and the roof beneath it, and one legislature thought it serious enough to write a barrier into every contract.

With an escape hatch that is usually omitted when this is described. The following paragraph lets the customer waive the barrier in writing, after being told its cost and the risks of going without it. So the requirement is a default rather than a mandate, and a Maryland contract without a barrier is not necessarily unlawful, it may be waived. If you are in Maryland, the question is whether you signed that waiver and whether anyone explained what you were giving up.

We looked for a second state with an equivalent requirement and found none. Virginia has a solar contract disclosure statute running to twenty-four required items covering pricing, specifications, warranties, cancellation and certificate ownership, and it contains no mention of wildlife barriers at all. That is a verified absence rather than an exhaustive search: several state legislature sites refused us, so the honest statement is that no other state requirement was found rather than that none exists.

Now the carve-out, which has to be published in the same breath. The licence requirement does not apply to a person licensed in an occupation with state or local competency standards, acting within that scope. The statute expressly names electricians among them. And it separately exempts a person selling a home improvement that will be performed by one of those exempt tradespeople.

Maryland solar installation is commonly performed under an electrician's licence. So whether a given Maryland solar seller needs an MHIC salesperson licence turns on who performs the work. We verified the statute and the exemption text. We were unable to establish how the Commission actually applies that carve-out to solar, and we are not going to guess at it. If you are in Maryland, ask the Commission rather than relying on this page, and ask your seller which exemption they are relying on if they are unlicensed.

Washington took the other route, and went furthest

Washington enacted a dedicated Solar Energy Consumer Protections statute in 2024, and it is the most demanding solar sales law we read anywhere. It is also the clearest example of the second regulatory design, because it does all of this without licensing salespeople at all.

It defines a "solar energy salesperson" as a person who "solicits, negotiates, or otherwise endeavors to procure a solar energy installation contract with a customer… on behalf of a solar energy contractor", and it defines soliciting broadly enough to catch modern practice: door-to-door contact, telephone contact or text messages, flyers left at a residence, and internet or social media advertisements.

Then it makes that person personally liable and names them in the contract, rather than issuing them a licence. That is a different theory of accountability from Texas's, and arguably a more direct one.

The provisions that go furthest are about money and timing. No payments of any type may be charged by a salesperson or contractor before the customer's rescission rights have expired. Rescission is self-executing: if the customer emails or sends a certified letter postmarked in the window, the contractor may not enforce the contract "even if the solar energy contractor or solar energy salesperson has not responded", and may not charge a cancellation fee. Any security interest must be terminated or statutory lien released within twenty days.

And it requires the disclosure the federal regulator identified as missing. The contract must disclose "the exact amount paid, if any, by a solar energy contractor or solar energy salesperson to any lender or third-party financing company in the form of a dealer fee, or other similar inducement to obtain financing". That is precisely the hidden markup the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau described in 2024, and Washington requires it as a number on the contract.

The contract must also state cost per watt, constrain production projections to a nationally recognised industry-standard tool that accounts for shading and orientation and shows December against June and may not exceed the manufacturer's optimal inverter performance, carry an initialled warning that a customer on government assistance or a fixed income may not be eligible for the federal tax credit, itemise roofing separately, and require utility approval of the interconnection application before installation begins. Claims and defences survive assignment of the contract, so selling the paper on does not shed the liability.

Arizona’s solar rescission right can expire before three days are up

Arizona requires a separately acknowledged rescission right of "not less than three business days after the agreement is signed by the buyer or lessee and before the distributed energy generation system is installed."

Read literally, the second condition can extinguish the first. A fast installation ends the statutory right inside the three days, because the right exists only while the system is uninstalled.

Contrast Washington, which forbids taking any payment before rescission expires, and note what that difference implies about how each legislature expected sellers to behave. If you are in Arizona and want to think about a signed agreement, the practical advice is to say in writing that you do not consent to installation beginning yet.

Arizona is the informative no

Arizona is worth a section precisely because it does not regulate solar sellers, and it cannot be explained by the state not having thought about solar.

Arizona has a solar-specific contractor qualification. Title 32, Chapter 10 contains an entire article headed "Qualification of Solar Contractors", which prohibits installing, altering or repairing a solar device without that qualification and provides for an examination. Arizona also has a solar-specific contract statute requiring separately acknowledged rescission rights, ten-point type, disclosure of total lifetime cost, interest and fees, tax consequences, and whether warranty obligations may be transferred. It sets minimum warranty periods for solar equipment by statute.

We read the full Title 32 section index. The only salesperson licences anywhere in it are for real estate and for cemeteries. A state that has legislated this specifically about solar contractors, solar contracts and solar warranties has still not registered the person who knocks on the door.

That is the shape of the national picture in miniature. Regulating installation is normal. Regulating selling is rare, recent, and confined to a handful of states.

Cancellation periods we verified by reading the statute

StatePeriodClock startsWorth knowingCitation
Texas5 business daysFrom execution by the buyerResidential solar specifically. "Business day" excludes Saturday, Sunday and legal holidays, so this is materially longer than five federal business days.Occ. Code § 1806.156
California5 business days if 65 or over, otherwise 3From receipt of a signed and dated copy of the contractSolar is statutorily a "home improvement", so the home solicitation rules apply. Seven business days for repair after a declared disaster.Civ. Code §§ 1689.5–1689.7; B&P § 7151
Arizona3 business daysFrom signingAny contract provision waiving the right "is void and has no effect". Separately, solar agreements must grant a rescission right of not less than three business days, and only before the system is installed.A.R.S. §§ 44-5002, 44-1763
Florida3 business daysFrom signingMailed notice is effective upon postmarking. "Business day" excludes Sunday and federal holidays only, so Saturday counts.Fla. Stat. § 501.025
Minnesota3 business daysFrom the day the sale occursMailed notice is effective on deposit in a mailbox.Minn. Stat. § 325G.07
Washington3 business daysFrom contract signingUnder the 2024 solar statute, and the most demanding we read. No payment of any type may be taken before the window expires, rescission is self-executing even if the contractor never responds, and no cancellation fee may be charged. The older general statute requires certified mail.RCW ch. 19.95
North Dakota15 business days if 65 or over, otherwise 3From entering the agreementThe longest window we found in any state. Applies to a personal solicitation sale of a product priced above $50, and the statute expressly covers solicitation by telephone as well as in person.N.D.C.C. § 51-18-02(1)
Kentucky10 business days on a home-secured loan, otherwise 3The later of loan consummation or delivery of the federal disclosuresLands on exactly the fact pattern the federal rule pushes out into the Truth in Lending Act, and more than triples the federal period there. Directly relevant to a solar loan secured by the house.KRS 367.420(6)

Each row was read from the state’s own published statute on 2 September 2026. Bold rows are solar-specific provisions rather than general home solicitation law.

The federal Cooling-Off Rule sets three business days as a floor and does not preempt stronger state law. Every state above meets or exceeds it, but note how differently they count and how differently notice must be given.

Two counting traps in that table

Saturday. The federal rule, California and Florida all count Saturday as a business day. Texas does not. So five Texas business days is longer in real time than five federal ones would be, and three federal business days is shorter than most people assume.

Method of notice. The federal rule accepts "any other written notice". Florida makes a mailed notice effective on postmarking and Minnesota on deposit in a mailbox. Washington's statute requires certified mail, return receipt requested, and conditions the right on returning or making the goods available. Do not assume an email satisfies a statute you have not read.

The states we could not verify, named

Checked, but the state’s own site blocked retrieval

Nevada, North Carolina, New York, Ohio, Utah, Connecticut, New Jersey, Colorado, New Mexico.

Not checked at all

Illinois, Pennsylvania, Georgia, Oregon, Virginia, South Carolina, Michigan, Wisconsin, Louisiana, Alaska, Hawaii, Rhode Island, Vermont, Maine, Delaware, Indiana, Missouri, Tennessee, Oklahoma, Kansas, Iowa, South Dakota, Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Nebraska, West Virginia, Alabama, Mississippi, Arkansas, Massachusetts, New Hampshire.

Why this list is on the page

A state-by-state page is the easiest place in publishing to imply knowledge you do not have. A table with fifty rows looks authoritative whether or not anyone read fifty statutes, and a reader has no way to tell the difference.

Several of the states above were genuinely attempted and blocked: legislature websites returned access errors or connection failures to every request we made. Others were simply not reached in the time available. Both are gaps, and neither is a finding about the state's law.

So: we verified six cooling-off statutes and four salesperson-licensing positions. If your state is not named on this page, this page does not know the answer, and the honest next step is your state consumer protection office or contractor licensing board rather than any inference from what is written here.

What to do with this if you are being sold to

  1. 1
    Find out whether your state registers the seller at all

    If you are in Texas, California or Maryland, there is a registration to check and a register to check it in. Everywhere else, assume the person selling to you is accountable only through the contractor, and act accordingly.

  2. 2
    Ask the salesperson to identify their contractor

    In California this is a legal duty owed to you before any solicitation: the business name and licence number of the contractor they represent for this transaction. Elsewhere it is simply a reasonable question, and the answer is checkable.

  3. 3
    Check the registration in the state register, not on a website badge

    Texas registrations are searchable through TDLR, California registrations through CSLB, Maryland licences through MHIC. A logo on a proposal is not evidence of anything.

  4. 4
    Find your actual cancellation deadline

    The federal floor is three business days counting Saturday. Your state may give more, may count differently, and may require a particular method of notice. If the contract states a deadline date, note it; several statutes require the seller to write it down.

  5. 5
    Read what the contract says about the loan

    In Texas, where an affiliated or referred lender is involved, the agreement must require that lender to cancel the loan if you cancel the contract. Elsewhere, check whether cancelling the installation also cancels the financing, because they are separate agreements unless something makes them one.

  6. 6
    If it has already gone wrong, complain to the regulator that exists

    A licensing board can act against a licence in a way that a review site cannot. Texas complaints go to TDLR, California’s to CSLB, Maryland’s to MHIC. Where no seller regulator exists, the contractor licensing board and the state attorney general’s consumer division are the routes.

Method and limitations

How this was verified

This page was corrected after first publication. It originally said that no state other than California and Texas exceeded the federal three days. That was wrong, and further reading found two that do by a wide margin: North Dakota at fifteen business days for buyers aged sixty-five or over, and Kentucky at ten where the loan is secured by the home. Both were then read directly from the state's own publisher. The original claim is recorded here rather than quietly replaced.

Every position on this page was established by reading the state's own published statutory text, not an agency summary or a secondary compilation. Texas was read from the enrolled text of SB 1036 at the Legislature's own site, because the Texas statute site returns a JavaScript shell to automated retrieval and yields no text. California, Arizona, Florida, Minnesota, Washington and Maryland were read from their own legislative publishing systems.

Where an agency page was the source, it is cited as an agency page and its claims are attributed to the agency rather than to the statute.

What we did not read, and therefore do not describe

The Texas administrative rules themselves. 16 Texas Administrative Code Chapter 71 contains § 71.41 on contract disclosures and § 71.43 on educational materials. The state's rule-hosting site has moved and its successor renders no rule text to automated retrieval, so we read only the titles and TDLR's own statement that enforcement of those two rules is suspended until 1 November 2026. We do not paraphrase what those rules require, because we have not read them.

How Maryland applies its licensed-trade carve-out to solar. The statute and the exemption are verified; the Commission's practice is not.

Any state not named on this page. See the gaps section.

New York, Illinois, Alabama and Alaska. Cancellation periods for these were reported to us by a survey whose primary sources we could not personally re-read, because the state sites concerned refuse automated retrieval. They are not stated anywhere on this page and should not be inferred from its silence.

This page decays faster than most

Two dates on it are live. The Texas registration requirement took effect on 1 September 2026, and TDLR's enforcement suspension of two rules runs to 1 November 2026. Solar sales regulation is currently a moving area of state law: California amended its home solicitation and salesperson provisions with effect from 1 January 2026, and Texas built an entire chapter from scratch in a single session. Check the primary sources below rather than trusting the date at the top of this page if the question matters.

Not legal advice

This is a description of published statutes. Whether a particular seller needs a registration, and what a particular cancellation right gives you, depends on facts and on how courts and regulators in your state read the words. Where real money is involved, ask your state's consumer protection office or a consumer attorney.

Questions

Which states require a licence to sell solar?
We verified three. Texas registers a solar salesperson specifically, effective 1 September 2026. California and Maryland require a home improvement salesperson licence, and solar falls inside their statutory definition of home improvement, so the same people are covered by a differently named licence. Arizona verifiably does not register solar sellers. We could not check most other states and say so explicitly on the page.
What is the Texas solar salesperson registration?
A registration with the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation created by SB 1036 and codified at Occupations Code Chapter 1806. A solar salesperson must be a natural person, must act on behalf of a registered solar retailer, and is named with a registration number on the retailer’s application and in the customer’s agreement. The retailer must supervise them and is responsible for their violations. The requirement took effect on 1 September 2026.
How long do I have to cancel a solar contract in Texas?
Five business days from the date you executed the agreement, and Texas excludes Saturday, Sunday and legal holidays from the count, which makes it longer in real time than a five-day federal window. The agreement must state the last calendar date and the address for notice. If it does not state an address, you may cancel by any reasonable method.
Does California give seniors longer to cancel?
Yes. The home solicitation cancellation period is until midnight of the fifth business day for a buyer aged 65 or over, rather than the third. That five-day right applies to contracts entered into on or after 1 January 2021. For a home improvement contract the period runs from receipt of a signed and dated copy of the contract rather than from signing.
What happens in California if the salesperson was not registered?
Two things. Selling without registration is a misdemeanour. And separately, any security interest taken by the contractor is unenforceable if the person who solicited the contract was not a duly registered salesperson or exempt at the time you signed. That second consequence runs to the homeowner rather than to the state.
Does a no-soliciting sign actually stop solar canvassers?
In Texas, from 1 September 2026, engaging in residential solar retail at a residence in violation of posted no-soliciting signage is a prohibited act under the statute, unless an occupant directs otherwise. We did not verify equivalent provisions in other states, and many local ordinances address soliciting generally rather than solar specifically.
Is Maryland’s salesperson licence required for solar?
The licence requirement covers selling a home improvement, and solar is in scope. But Maryland exempts people licensed in trades with their own competency standards, expressly including electricians, and separately exempts those selling work to be performed by such a tradesperson. Maryland solar is commonly installed under an electrician’s licence, so the answer depends on who performs the work. We verified the statute and the exemption but not how the Commission applies it, so ask MHIC rather than relying on this.
If my state is not listed, does that mean it has no rules?
No, and that inference is exactly what this page is written to prevent. Several states were attempted and their legislature websites blocked retrieval; many more were never checked. Absence from this page means we do not know, not that the state does nothing. Your state consumer protection office or contractor licensing board is the right place to ask.
Does state law override the federal three-day rule?
State law can give you more, not less. The federal rule expressly does not preempt state or local law regulating door-to-door sales, and displaces only law that is directly inconsistent, which it defines to include any state rule giving a cancellation right weaker than the federal one. So the three business days is a floor everywhere and a ceiling nowhere.

Written and audited by

HyreSolar Research

Primary-source research, data analysis and fact checking

We are a research desk, not a sales floor. We read the statute, the tariff, the code section, the federal filing or the manufacturer data sheet ourselves, and we publish the figure with the document it came from and the date we retrieved it. Where a number cannot be traced to a primary source, we publish the shorter page and say what we could not verify. That rule has cost us whole sections, and it is the reason the rest can be trusted.

160
primary sources read and cited
220
figures with a retrieval date
115
federal and state government sources
66
researched pages published

How this desk works

  • Primary sources only. Statutes from the legislature’s own publishing system, federal data from the agency that collects it, code text from the adopted edition, manufacturer claims from the data sheet. We do not cite an article that cites a source; we go and read the source.
  • Every figure carries its provenance. A named document and the date we retrieved it, so you can check it and so you know how old it is. Retrieval dates are not decoration: an EIA rate from May is a different fact from an EIA rate from August.
  • We publish what we could not verify. Every research page carries a section naming the things we tried to establish and could not, and why. A paywalled standard, a state website that refused the request, a manufacturer that publishes no figure at all.
  • We separate measurement from modelling from our own reasoning, and label which is which on the page. A laboratory measurement, an assumption inside a modelling tool and our own inference are three different kinds of claim and they are never presented as one.
  • We do not sell solar, and we take no payment for placement, ranking or a favourable mention. Nobody buys a position on this site.

Data as of statutes, enrolled bill text and agency pages read on 2 September 2026. Authorship on this site is organisational: the analysis belongs to the desk rather than to a named individual, and we do not publish credentials we do not hold. Our editorial policy sets out how we source, date and correct what we publish.

Sources & retrieval dates

  1. S.B. 1036, 89th Texas Legislature, Regular Session (2025), enrolled text — Codified as Occupations Code Chapter 1806, the Residential Solar Retailer Regulatory Act. Source for the required contract provisions, the five-business-day cancellation right, the registration requirements for retailers and salespeople, the prohibited acts including the no-soliciting provision, the penalty caps, the electrical contractor exemption and the staged effective dates. Retrieved 2 September 2026.
  2. TDLR, Residential Solar Retailers programme — Source for the current administrative position: applications open for retailer and salesperson registrations, and the temporary suspension of enforcement of 16 TAC §§ 71.41 and 71.43 until 1 November 2026. Also the route to the licence search and the complaint process. Retrieved 2 September 2026.
  3. California Business and Professions Code §§ 7151, 7152, 7153, 7153.1 — Source for solar energy systems being statutorily a home improvement, the home improvement salesperson registration requirement, the duty to identify the contractor before soliciting, the fingerprint and criminal history requirement, the misdemeanour penalty, the unenforceable security interest, and the appointment-setter and officer exemptions. Section 7152 amended effective 1 January 2026. Retrieved 2 September 2026.
  4. California Civil Code §§ 1689.5, 1689.6, 1689.7 — Source for the home solicitation cancellation periods, the five-business-day right for buyers aged 65 or over applying to contracts from 1 January 2021, the seven business days for disaster repair, the business-day definition that counts Saturday, and the required notice wording. Retrieved 2 September 2026.
  5. Maryland Code, Business Regulation §§ 8-101, 8-301, 8-302, 8-501 — Source for the salesperson licence requirement, the definitions of salesperson and of selling a home improvement, the pre-application examination, the requirement to name the salesperson in the contract, the rooftop solar provision confirming solar is in scope, and the licensed-trade exemptions at § 8-301(c)(4) and (7). Retrieved 2 September 2026.
  6. Code of Virginia § 54.1-1117.1 — Virginia’s solar contract disclosure statute, running to twenty-four required disclosures covering pricing, system specifications, warranties, cancellation rights and renewable energy certificate ownership. Cited here for a verified absence: it contains no mention of wildlife barriers, critter guards or animal exclusion, which is the point of comparison with Maryland. Retrieved 3 September 2026.
  7. Maryland Home Improvement Commission — Source for the public ability to check the licence status of a contractor or salesperson. Retrieved 2 September 2026.
  8. Arizona Revised Statutes Title 32, Chapter 10, Article 4 and §§ 44-1762, 44-1763, 44-5002, 44-5004 — Source for the solar contractor qualification, the solar agreement disclosure requirements including the not-less-than-three-business-days rescission right, the statutory minimum solar warranty periods, the three-business-day home solicitation right, the voiding of any waiver, and the finding that Title 32 contains no solar salesperson licence. Retrieved 2 September 2026.
  9. Florida Statutes § 501.025 — Source for the three-business-day home solicitation cancellation right and mailed notice being effective on postmarking. Retrieved 2 September 2026.
  10. Minnesota Statutes § 325G.07 — Source for the three-business-day period running from the day the sale occurs, and mailed notice being effective on deposit in a mailbox. Retrieved 2 September 2026.
  11. Revised Code of Washington § 63.14.154 — Source for the three-day period excluding Sundays and holidays, the certified mail return receipt requirement, the condition that goods be returned or made available, and the ten-day refund. Retrieved 2 September 2026.
  12. North Dakota Century Code § 51-18-02(1) — Source for the fifteen-business-day cancellation right for buyers aged sixty-five or over on a personal solicitation sale of a product priced above fifty dollars, the longest window we found in any state, and for North Dakota’s ordinary three-business-day period. Retrieved 2 September 2026.
  13. Kentucky Revised Statutes § 367.420 — Source for the ten-business-day right to rescind a home solicitation sale on a loan in which a security interest is taken in the buyer’s principal dwelling, running from the later of loan consummation or delivery of the material disclosures required under the Truth in Lending Act, and for Kentucky’s ordinary three-business-day period. Retrieved 2 September 2026.
  14. Revised Code of Washington chapter 19.95, Solar Energy Consumer Protections — Enacted 2024. Source for the definition of a solar energy salesperson and of soliciting, personal liability, the bar on taking any payment before rescission expires, self-executing rescission with no cancellation fee, lien release within twenty days, the requirement to disclose the exact dealer fee paid to a lender, the cost-per-watt requirement, the constraints on production projections, the initialled tax-credit and financing warnings, the requirement for utility interconnection approval before installation, and the survival of claims and defences on assignment. Retrieved 2 September 2026.
  15. 16 CFR § 429.2(b), effect on state law — Source for the federal three business days being a floor, and for the definition of the state law that is displaced as directly inconsistent. Retrieved 2 September 2026.

Not sure what your state gives you?

Send us the contract and where you are. We will tell you what the paperwork says about cancellation, who the contracting entity is, and what the numbers assume.

Get a contract checked Analyse a proposal

HyreSolar is an independent analysis and matching service. We are not an installer, lender or utility. When a reader asks to be introduced, installers may pay us a referral fee. That fee never buys ranking, scores or placement in research. Our editorial policy sets out the rules.