6 kW Solar System Cost: What You Will Pay in 2026
Written by HyreSolar Research Desk Price compilation from published, dated sources
The short answer
6 kW Solar System Cost depends mainly on system size, equipment and roof, and this page gives the installed range from dated, sourced quotes. Across 22 published sources that price a 6 kW system specifically, the typical installed range is $16,800–$19,200 before incentives.
No 30% federal credit applies to a system a homeowner buys: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025 (what changed).
When you are ready
Ready to explore solar for your home?
If you have done your research and want to speak with a solar professional, HyreSolar can help you explore available options.
Free, with no obligation: a person at HyreSolar reads your request and gets back to you about it. Matching with solar professionals is not live yet, so this is not a quote, and nothing is shared with anyone until you agree.
Keep learningInstalled price range (22 quotes, dated)
6 kW system, installed total: $16,800–$19,200, the median low to the median high across the 22 comparable published figures below. The full spread runs from $14,460 to $24,000.
| Source | Published figure | Basis | Source date | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EnergySage | $16,080 | EnergySage size table, before incentives | 2026-06-30 (state table 2026-10-16) | 2026-10-21 |
| Fixr | $18,200 | Fixr table, before incentives | 2026-01-30 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarReviews | $19,140 | SolarReviews table, total cost pre-incentive | 2026-10 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarSavingsHub | $18,000 | gross table at $3.00/W (15 kW row inconsistent) | 2026-10-04 | 2026-10-21 |
| Nedes | $16,000 to $22,500 | gross, before incentives | 2026-08-27 | 2026-10-21 |
| Portlandia Electric Supply | $16,800 to $19,200 | gross, $2.80–$3.20/W band | 2026-06-06 (updated 2026-09) | 2026-10-21 |
| The Green Watt | $16,800 to $19,200 | owned, no federal credit | 2026-04-15 | 2026-10-21 |
| NRG Clean Power | $15,960 | estimated, before incentives (tracks EnergySage closely) | 2026-07-25 | 2026-10-21 |
| Solar Powered Tech | $17,700 to $24,000 | low=NREL benchmark $2.95/W, high=LBNL overall median $4.00/W, before incentives | 2026-09-24 | 2026-10-21 |
| RenCalc | $16,800 | illustrative at $2.80/W, before incentives | 2026-09-04 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarWattCalc | $18,000 | examples, before incentives | not stated | 2026-10-21 |
| Jouleio | $15,000 to $21,000 | gross, before incentives | 2026-05-18 | 2026-10-21 |
| solar.com | $20,160 | at $3.36/W SEIA/WoodMac benchmark | not stated | 2026-10-21 |
| ProHouseMaintenance | $18,000 | 6 kW cites NREL via SolarReviews; 12 kW cites EnergySage | 2026-06-01 | 2026-10-21 |
| EcoWatch | $19,980 | installed, pre-incentive | 2023-11-29 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarRatings | $15,000 to $21,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-06-06 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarBazaar | $15,000 to $21,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-10-07 | 2026-10-21 |
| MySolarfy | $15,480 to $21,000 | installed, pre-incentive, illustrative | 2026-08-18 | 2026-10-21 |
| RealCostIQ | $15,000 to $22,500 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-09-05 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarInsure | $14,460 to $20,040 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-10-14 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarScout | $16,200 to $17,100 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-04-10 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarInstallEstimate | $16,800 | installed, pre-incentive | not stated | 2026-10-21 |
Each row is a figure as the source states it, gross of incentives, not adjusted by us. The headline range is a HyreSolar calculation over these rows. No 30% federal credit is subtracted: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025.
Compare quotes from vetted solar installers System size calculator
Who a 6 kW system fits
A 6 kW system covers a below-average to average household in sunny states, or a careful-use household elsewhere. It is a common size for homes with gas heat and no electric vehicle.
At 400 W per panel it is 15 panels; at 430 W, 14.
What moves the price of a 6 kW system
At 6 kW the fixed costs still weigh on the per-watt price, but less than at 5 kW. Roof complexity is the usual swing factor: 15 panels across two or three planes cost more to design and wire than 15 on one plane.
A 6 kW quote that also includes a battery should price the battery on its own line; see panels with battery.
Price by size and equipment
Neighbouring sizes, each ranged only from sources that price that exact size.
| Size | Sourced range | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| 5 kW | $13,900–$15,100 | 14 |
| 6 kW | $16,800–$19,200 | 22 |
| 8 kW | $20,900–$24,300 | 23 |
| 10 kW | $25,800–$30,400 | 25 |
| 12 kW | $31,100–$36,000 | 14 |
Full tables with every source are on solar cost by system size.
How to check a quote
- 1Confirm it is really 6 kW DC
Panel count × panel wattage should equal 6000 W or very close. The panel count tool checks it.
- 2Compute gross cost per watt
Price before incentives ÷ 6000. Compare that, not the total, across quotes of slightly different sizes.
- 3List what is excluded
Panel upgrade, roof repairs, trenching, critter guard and monitoring subscriptions are the usual change orders.
Questions
How much does a 6 kW solar system cost installed?
Is 6 kW enough for my house?
Can I still take 30% off a 6 kW system?
HyreSolar does not install or finance solar systems. The figures above are other publishers’ published prices, dated and linked; none is a quote for your property. Prices vary with location, roof, equipment, electrical work and financing.