Solar Battery Cost: What You Will Pay in 2026
Written by HyreSolar Research Desk Price compilation from published, dated sources
The short answer
Solar Battery Cost depends mainly on capacity, the backup it has to deliver and the wiring at your panel, and this page gives the installed range from dated, sourced quotes. Across 17 published, dated sources retrieved October 21, 2026, the typical installed range is $9,000–$18,000 before incentives.
No 30% federal credit applies to a system a homeowner buys: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025 (what changed). Some utilities still pay storage rebates; check solar incentives.
When you are ready
Ready to explore solar for your home?
If you have done your research and want to speak with a solar professional, HyreSolar can help you explore available options.
Free, with no obligation: a person at HyreSolar reads your request and gets back to you about it. Matching with solar professionals is not live yet, so this is not a quote, and nothing is shared with anyone until you agree.
Keep learningInstalled price range (17 quotes, dated)
Solar battery installed: $9,000–$18,000, the median low to the median high across the 17 comparable published figures below. The full spread runs from $4,100 to $29,300.
| Source | Published figure | Basis | Source date | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EnergySage | $15,647 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-07-13 | 2026-10-21 |
| Modernize | $9,000 to $19,000 | installed; page does not state pre/post incentive | 2026-08-12 | 2026-10-21 |
| Aurora Solar | $8,000 to $15,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-09-04 | 2026-10-21 |
| Sunrun | $12,000 to $22,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-04-22 | 2026-10-21 |
| Anker SOLIX | $12,000 to $16,500 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-02-07 | 2026-10-21 |
| Helios Energy | $14,000 to $18,500 | installed, pre-incentive; Southern California | 2026-09-01 | 2026-10-21 |
| Advance Solar | $12,000 to $16,000 | installed, pre-incentive | not stated | 2026-10-21 |
| MySolarFY | $10,000 to $18,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-07-12 | 2026-10-21 |
| SoloPWR | $9,000 to $18,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-09-08 | 2026-10-21 |
| Amecosolar | $12,000 to $20,000 | installed, pre-incentive | not stated | 2026-10-21 |
| AgentSolar | $4,100 to $29,300 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-10-14 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarPriceList | $8,000 to $20,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-06-02 | 2026-10-21 |
| Trumony Techs | $9,000 to $18,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-05-14 | 2026-10-21 |
| The Fix Price | $8,000 to $13,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-10-07 | 2026-10-21 |
| LatestCost | $8,000 to $25,000 | installed; page does not state pre/post incentive | 2026-01-17 | 2026-10-21 |
| BLUETTI | $8,000 to $15,000 | installed; manufacturer blog, labels data 2025 | 2026-05-13 | 2026-10-21 |
| HomeGuide | $8,000 to $16,000 | installed, pre-incentive | not stated | 2026-10-21 |
Each row is a figure as the source states it, gross of incentives, not adjusted by us. The headline range is a HyreSolar calculation over these rows. No 30% federal credit is subtracted: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025.
Compare quotes from vetted solar installers Battery sizing tool
What moves the price of a solar battery
Capacity in kilowatt-hours moves the price most, then power in kilowatts: how much the battery can deliver at once decides whether it can start a well pump or central air. Chemistry matters less to price than it used to; most home batteries now use lithium iron phosphate (chemistry compared).
Installation scope is the hidden variable. Partial backup through a critical-load panel costs less than whole-home backup, which may need a larger gateway, a second battery, or a service panel upgrade. AC-coupled batteries added to existing solar carry their own inverter; DC-coupled batteries share a hybrid inverter with new panels.
Price by size and equipment
| Decision | Read |
|---|---|
| One named product | Tesla Powerwall 3 price |
| Backing up the whole house | Whole home battery backup cost |
| Adding to panels you already have | Add a battery to existing solar |
| Buying panels and battery together | Solar panels with battery cost |
How to check a quote
- 1Price storage per usable kWh
Divide the battery line by usable (not nominal) capacity, and compare that across quotes.
- 2Ask what stays on in an outage
Whole-home or selected circuits, and whether the battery can start your largest motor load.
- 3Check for a panel upgrade line
The panel upgrade check shows whether your service is likely to need one.
Questions
How much does a solar battery cost installed?
Is there a federal tax credit for home batteries in 2026?
Is a battery cheaper than a generator?
HyreSolar does not install or finance solar systems. The figures above are other publishers’ published prices, dated and linked; none is a quote for your property. Prices vary with location, roof, equipment, electrical work and financing.