Tesla Powerwall 3 Price: What You Will Pay in 2026
Written by HyreSolar Research Desk Price compilation from published, dated sources
The short answer
Tesla Powerwall 3 Price depends mainly on how many units you install, the gateway and the electrical work at your panel, and this page gives the installed range from dated, sourced quotes. Across 17 published, dated sources retrieved October 21, 2026, the typical installed range is $13,000–$16,000 before incentives.
No 30% federal credit applies to a system a homeowner buys: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025 (what changed). Some utilities still pay storage rebates; check solar incentives.
When you are ready
Ready to explore solar for your home?
If you have done your research and want to speak with a solar professional, HyreSolar can help you explore available options.
Free, with no obligation: a person at HyreSolar reads your request and gets back to you about it. Matching with solar professionals is not live yet, so this is not a quote, and nothing is shared with anyone until you agree.
Keep learningInstalled price range (17 quotes, dated)
Powerwall3 installed: $13,000–$16,000, the median low to the median high across the 17 comparable published figures below. The full spread runs from $8,700 to $18,500.
| Source | Published figure | Basis | Source date | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EnergySage | $13,473 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-05-15 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarPanelInstallCost | $10,500 to $14,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-04-27 | 2026-10-21 |
| SmartEnergyUSA | $13,000 to $16,500 | installed, pre-incentive | not stated | 2026-10-21 |
| Helios Energy | $14,500 to $18,500 | installed, pre-incentive; California | not stated | 2026-10-21 |
| Aurora Solar | $12,000 to $16,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-09-04 | 2026-10-21 |
| Kora Power | $13,000 to $16,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-06-09 | 2026-10-21 |
| NRG Clean Power | $13,000 to $16,500 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-08-19 | 2026-10-21 |
| This Old House | $16,779 | installed quote, pre-credit; Austin TX | 2025-07-02 | 2026-10-21 |
| Energy Scout | $12,000 to $16,000 | installed; California | 2026-04-25 | 2026-10-21 |
| GreenSave Home | $8,700 to $11,500 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-06-05 | 2026-10-21 |
| Exspenditure | $11,500 to $16,779 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-04-01 | 2026-10-21 |
| OC Solar | $9,995 to $15,995 | installed; California | 2026-09-22 | 2026-10-21 |
| Advance Solar | $12,000 to $16,000 | installed, pre-incentive | not stated | 2026-10-21 |
| AgentSolar | $13,300 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-10-14 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarPriceList | $12,400 to $14,400 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-06-02 | 2026-10-21 |
| How To Store Electricity | $14,000 to $16,500 | installed, pre-incentive | 2025-07-20 | 2026-10-21 |
| MySolarFY | $13,700 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-07-12 | 2026-10-21 |
Each row is a figure as the source states it, gross of incentives, not adjusted by us. The headline range is a HyreSolar calculation over these rows. No 30% federal credit is subtracted: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025.
Compare quotes from vetted solar installers Battery sizing tool
What moves the price of a Powerwall 3
Powerwall 3 has a solar inverter built in, so on a new install it replaces a separate inverter; on an existing system it is usually added alongside the inverter you have. That one difference changes the quote more than anything else. Tesla publishes the product specification on its Powerwall page.
Unit count comes next: whole-home backup or large motor loads often mean a second unit or an expansion pack. Then the site: the distance between battery and main panel, wall or ground mounting, a service panel upgrade, and the permit and utility requirements where you live.
Price by size and equipment
| Situation | Effect on the quote |
|---|---|
| New solar with Powerwall 3 | Integrated inverter replaces a separate one; see panels with battery |
| Added to existing solar | Existing inverter usually stays; see add a battery |
| Two units or expansion | Roughly a second battery line; see whole home backup |
How to check a quote
- 1Confirm who installs it
Tesla and certified installers both sell it; compare the workmanship warranty, not just the price.
- 2Ask whether the existing inverter stays
Retiring a working inverter adds cost for little gain on many retrofits.
- 3Size backup to the loads you need
The battery sizing tool shows how many kWh your outage plan needs.
Questions
How much does a Tesla Powerwall 3 cost installed?
Can I buy a Powerwall 3 without solar?
Is there a tax credit for Powerwall 3 in 2026?
HyreSolar does not install or finance solar systems. The figures above are other publishers’ published prices, dated and linked; none is a quote for your property. Prices vary with location, roof, equipment, electrical work and financing.