HyreSolar

Whole Home Battery Backup Cost: What You Will Pay in 2026

Prices retrieved October 21–22, 2026 · 14 dated sources in the headline range

Written by HyreSolar Research Desk Price compilation from published, dated sources

$20,900–$30,000 Whole home backup installed Median published low to median published high, 14 sources, retrieved October 21–22, 2026

The short answer

Whole Home Battery Backup Cost depends mainly on how many batteries your largest loads need and on the work at your main panel, and this page gives the installed range from dated, sourced quotes. Across 14 published, dated sources retrieved October 21, 2026, the typical installed range is $20,900–$30,000 before incentives.

No 30% federal credit applies to a system a homeowner buys: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025 (what changed). Some utilities still pay storage rebates; check solar incentives.

When you are ready

Ready to explore solar for your home?

If you have done your research and want to speak with a solar professional, HyreSolar can help you explore available options.

Free, with no obligation: a person at HyreSolar reads your request and gets back to you about it. Matching with solar professionals is not live yet, so this is not a quote, and nothing is shared with anyone until you agree.

Keep learning

We reply to every inquiry. Nothing is passed on to anyone you have not asked us to contact.

Installed price range (14 quotes, dated)

Whole home backup installed: $20,900–$30,000, the median low to the median high across the 14 comparable published figures below. The full spread runs from $14,000 to $45,000.

SourcePublished figureBasisSource dateRetrieved
EnergySage $34,000 installed, pre-incentive 2026-07-13 2026-10-21
Modernize $20,000 installed, pre-incentive 2026-08-12 2026-10-21
Aurora Solar $24,000 to $32,000 installed, pre-incentive 2026-09-04 2026-10-21
Helios Energy $24,000 to $30,000 installed, pre-incentive; California not stated 2026-10-21
Energy Scout $18,000 to $28,000 installed, pre-incentive 2026-04-10 2026-10-21
GreenSave Home $17,000 to $22,000 installed, pre-incentive 2026-06-05 2026-10-21
Pick Comfort $14,000 to $30,000 installed, pre-incentive 2026-06-02 2026-10-21
Exspenditure $18,500 installed, pre-incentive 2026-04-01 2026-10-21
Advance Solar $25,000 to $32,000 installed, pre-incentive not stated 2026-10-21
Anker SOLIX $30,000 installed, pre-incentive 2026-02-07 2026-10-21
This Old House $21,758 installed, pre-credit; Austin TX 2025-07-02 2026-10-21
SolarPriceList $22,000 to $35,000 installed, pre-incentive 2026-06-02 2026-10-21
Savolture $18,000 to $28,000 installed, pre-incentive 2026-05-21 2026-10-21
PowerOutage.us $15,000 to $45,000 installed, pre-incentive not stated 2026-10-21

Each row is a figure as the source states it, gross of incentives, not adjusted by us. The headline range is a HyreSolar calculation over these rows. No 30% federal credit is subtracted: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025.

Compare quotes from vetted solar installers Battery sizing tool

What moves the price of whole-home backup

Whole-home backup means every circuit stays live in an outage, so the batteries must deliver enough power at once for the house’s largest simultaneous loads, not just enough energy for the night.

Central air, an electric range, a well pump or an EV charger each push toward a second or third battery, and that is the biggest cost driver.

The panel work comes next: whole-home backup usually needs a gateway or transfer device sized to the main service, and an older 100 A panel may need an upgrade first. The cheaper alternative is a critical-load panel that backs up selected circuits on one battery.

Price by size and equipment

Backup goalTypical battery countRead
Lights, fridge, internet, outletsOne battery on a critical-load panelSolar battery cost
Whole home without central airOften one or twoPowerwall 3 price
Whole home with central air or well pumpOften two or moreThis page

Battery counts are planning guidance from the loads involved, not a price figure; size your own with the battery sizing tool.

How to check a quote

  1. 1
    Ask for a load calculation

    The quote should show which loads were sized for and how many hours of backup were assumed.

  2. 2
    Compare whole-home to partial backup

    Ask each installer to price both; the difference is often a whole battery.

  3. 3
    Check soft-start options

    A soft starter on the air conditioner can avoid a second battery.

Questions

How much does whole home battery backup cost?
$20,900–$30,000 before incentives across 14 published sources. Battery count is the main reason quotes differ.
How many batteries do I need to back up my whole house?
Enough to cover your largest simultaneous loads in kW and your outage length in kWh. The battery sizing tool works it out from your appliances.
Is a generator cheaper for whole-home backup?
Often up front, especially for long outages. Battery vs generator sets out where each wins.

HyreSolar does not install or finance solar systems. The figures above are other publishers’ published prices, dated and linked; none is a quote for your property. Prices vary with location, roof, equipment, electrical work and financing.