Solar Loan Dealer Fee: What You Will Pay in 2026
Written by HyreSolar Research Desk Price compilation from published, dated sources
The short answer
Solar Loan Dealer Fee depends mainly on the loan's advertised rate and the lender, and this page gives the published range from dated sources. Across 14 published, dated sources retrieved October 22, 2026, dealer fees run 13%–30% of the price, and the CFPB reports some exceed 50 percent.
The fee is the gap between the cash price and the financed price. No 30% federal credit applies to a system a homeowner buys: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025 (what changed).
When you are ready
Ready to explore solar for your home?
If you have done your research and want to speak with a solar professional, HyreSolar can help you explore available options.
Free, with no obligation: a person at HyreSolar reads your request and gets back to you about it. Matching with solar professionals is not live yet, so this is not a quote, and nothing is shared with anyone until you agree.
Keep learningInstalled price range (14 quotes, dated)
Solar loan dealer fee, % of price: 13%–30%, the median low to the median high across the 14 comparable published figures below. The full spread runs from 10% to 35%.
| Source | Published figure | Basis | Source date | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CFPB | 10% to 30% | % of cash price (can exceed 50%) | 2024-08-07 | 2026-10-22 |
| EnergySage | 15% to 30% | % of total loan amount | 2023-11-14 | 2026-10-22 |
| The Day Company | 10% to 30% | % of cash price (citing CFPB) | 2026-08-06 | 2026-10-22 |
| Solar Cancellation Companies | 10% to 30% | % of cash price (citing CFPB) | 2026-06-19 | 2026-10-22 |
| Solar Energy Simplified | 10% to 30% | % of system cost | 2026-03-21 | 2026-10-22 |
| IntegrateSun | 10% to 30% | % of cash price (citing CFPB) | 2026 (Jul 15, updated Aug 18; year per title) | 2026-10-22 |
| Smart Volt Solutions | 15% to 30% | % baked into amount financed | 2026-07-19 | 2026-10-22 |
| AmeriSave | 15% to 30% | % of system cost | 2026-10-09 | 2026-10-22 |
| NRG Clean Power | 20% to 30% | % of system price | 2026-08-07 | 2026-10-22 |
| SurgePV | 20% to 35% | % added to loan principal | 2026-05-25 | 2026-10-22 |
| SolarReviews | 15% to 30% | % of cash price | not stated (updated 1 week ago) | 2026-10-22 |
| Mayer Brown | 10% to 30% | % of cash price (summarising CFPB) | 2025-01-14 | 2026-10-22 |
| Prevost Law Firm | 10% to 30% | % of total loan amount | 2025-05-16 (modified 2026-10-13) | 2026-10-22 |
| Honest Solar | 15% to 30% | % of project price; 2026 industry average stated as ~22% | not stated (2026 footer) | 2026-10-22 |
Each row is a figure as the source states it, gross of incentives, not adjusted by us. The headline range is a HyreSolar calculation over these rows. No 30% federal credit is subtracted: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025.
Compare quotes from vetted solar installers Dealer fee calculator
What moves a dealer fee
The advertised interest rate moves the fee most. A dealer fee is what the lender charges the installer to offer a below-market rate, and the installer recovers it by raising the price you finance.
The lower the advertised APR, the larger the fee tends to be. The CFPB's August 2024 Issue Spotlight found these fees are often not shown as a finance charge, so the APR alone understates what the loan costs.
Sources state the percentage on different bases, and it changes the number. Some quote the fee as a share of the cash price, others as a share of the loan amount.
The same dollar fee is a smaller percentage of the loan, because the loan already includes the fee. Ask which base a quote uses before comparing.
Payment choice is the escape. Paying cash, or borrowing through a credit union or home equity line that does not pay installers a fee, removes the markup.
Some installers will price a cash job lower outright; others build the fee into every price. The only way to see it is to get both prices in writing.
Fee by way of paying
| How you pay | Dealer fee | Read |
|---|---|---|
| Cash | None | Installation cost |
| Installer-arranged low-APR loan | Usually built into the financed price | Dealer fee calculator |
| Credit union, HELOC or bank loan | Usually none; higher stated rate | Loan calculator |
| Lease or PPA | Not a loan; priced as a payment | Solar lease cost |
How to check a quote
- 1Ask for the cash price and the financed price in writing
The difference is the dealer fee in dollars. Divide by the cash price to get the percentage.
- 2Solve for the real rate
Enter the cash price, monthly payment and term in the dealer fee calculator; it returns the rate you are actually paying on the cash price.
- 3Price a no-fee loan against it
A credit union quote at a higher stated rate on the lower cash price is often cheaper over the term.
- 4Check the re-amortization clause
Many solar loans assume you pay down a lump sum within the first 12 to 18 months. If you do not, the payment rises.
Questions
What is a typical solar loan dealer fee?
Is a dealer fee included in the APR?
How do I find the dealer fee in my quote?
Is a 0.99% solar loan a good deal?
HyreSolar does not install or finance solar systems. The figures above are other publishers’ published prices, dated and linked; none is a quote for your property. Prices vary with location, roof, equipment, electrical work and financing.