10 kW Solar System Cost: What You Will Pay in 2026
Written by HyreSolar Research Desk Price compilation from published, dated sources
The short answer
10 kW Solar System Cost depends mainly on system size, equipment and roof, and this page gives the installed range from dated, sourced quotes. Across 25 published sources that price a 10 kW system specifically, the typical installed range is $25,800–$30,400 before incentives.
No 30% federal credit applies to a system a homeowner buys: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025 (what changed).
When you are ready
Ready to explore solar for your home?
If you have done your research and want to speak with a solar professional, HyreSolar can help you explore available options.
Free, with no obligation: a person at HyreSolar reads your request and gets back to you about it. Matching with solar professionals is not live yet, so this is not a quote, and nothing is shared with anyone until you agree.
Keep learningInstalled price range (25 quotes, dated)
10 kW system, installed total: $25,800–$30,400, the median low to the median high across the 25 comparable published figures below. The full spread runs from $24,100 to $40,000.
| Source | Published figure | Basis | Source date | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EnergySage | $25,800 | EnergySage size table, before incentives | 2026-06-30 (state table 2026-10-16) | 2026-10-21 |
| Fixr | $30,400 | Fixr table, before incentives | 2026-01-30 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarReviews | $28,600 | SolarReviews table, total cost pre-incentive | 2026-10 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarSavingsHub | $30,000 | gross table at $3.00/W (15 kW row inconsistent) | 2026-10-04 | 2026-10-21 |
| Nedes | $25,500 to $35,000 | gross, before incentives | 2026-08-27 | 2026-10-21 |
| Portlandia Electric Supply | $28,000 to $32,000 | gross, $2.80–$3.20/W band | 2026-06-06 (updated 2026-09) | 2026-10-21 |
| The Green Watt | $25,000 to $28,500 | owned, no federal credit | 2026-04-15 | 2026-10-21 |
| NRG Clean Power | $25,500 | estimated, before incentives (tracks EnergySage closely) | 2026-07-25 | 2026-10-21 |
| Solar Powered Tech | $29,500 to $40,000 | low=NREL benchmark $2.95/W, high=LBNL overall median $4.00/W, before incentives | 2026-09-24 | 2026-10-21 |
| RenCalc | $28,000 | illustrative at $2.80/W, before incentives | 2026-09-04 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarWattCalc | $25,000 to $35,000 | examples, before incentives | not stated | 2026-10-21 |
| Jouleio | $25,000 to $35,000 | gross, before incentives | 2026-05-18 | 2026-10-21 |
| solar.com | $33,600 | at $3.36/W SEIA/WoodMac benchmark | not stated | 2026-10-21 |
| BLUETTI US | $25,800 | installed, pre-incentive; reprints EnergySage data | 2026-09-28 | 2026-10-21 |
| EcoWatch | $26,600 | installed, pre-incentive, 2022 data | 2022-10-06 | 2026-10-21 |
| Paradise Solar Energy | $33,240 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-08-28 | 2026-10-21 |
| ConsumerAffairs | $27,924 | installed, pre-incentive | not stated | 2026-10-21 |
| NuWatt Energy | $25,800 | installed, pre-incentive | not stated | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarRatings | $25,000 to $35,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-06-06 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarBazaar | $25,000 to $35,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-10-07 | 2026-10-21 |
| Energy Rebate Calculator | $27,500 | installed, pre-incentive | not stated | 2026-10-21 |
| MySolarfy | $25,800 to $35,000 | installed, pre-incentive, illustrative | 2026-08-18 | 2026-10-21 |
| RealCostIQ | $25,000 to $37,500 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-09-05 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarInsure | $24,100 to $33,400 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-10-14 | 2026-10-21 |
| SolarScout | $25,500 to $27,000 | installed, pre-incentive | 2026-04-10 | 2026-10-21 |
Each row is a figure as the source states it, gross of incentives, not adjusted by us. The headline range is a HyreSolar calculation over these rows. No 30% federal credit is subtracted: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025.
Compare quotes from vetted solar installers System size calculator
Who a 10 kW system fits
A 10 kW system suits a larger home, an all-electric house, or a household charging an electric vehicle. It is above the US average size.
At 400 W per panel it is 25 panels; at 430 W, 23 or 24. It needs roughly 500 to 600 square feet of usable roof, depending on panel size.
What moves the price of a 10 kW system
At 10 kW the per-watt price is usually lower than for small systems, but the total brings other costs into play: a larger inverter or two, a likely service panel review, and on many roofs a second or third plane. A ground mount becomes an option when the roof cannot fit 25 panels.
Check your utility’s interconnection rules: some require extra review above a size threshold, which can add time and fees.
Price by size and equipment
Neighbouring sizes, each ranged only from sources that price that exact size.
| Size | Sourced range | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| 5 kW | $13,900–$15,100 | 14 |
| 6 kW | $16,800–$19,200 | 22 |
| 8 kW | $20,900–$24,300 | 23 |
| 10 kW | $25,800–$30,400 | 25 |
| 12 kW | $31,100–$36,000 | 14 |
Full tables with every source are on solar cost by system size.
How to check a quote
- 1Confirm it is really 10 kW DC
Panel count × panel wattage should equal 10000 W or very close. The panel count tool checks it.
- 2Compute gross cost per watt
Price before incentives ÷ 10000. Compare that, not the total, across quotes of slightly different sizes.
- 3List what is excluded
Panel upgrade, roof repairs, trenching, critter guard and monitoring subscriptions are the usual change orders.
Questions
How much does a 10 kW solar system cost installed?
How much roof does a 10 kW system need?
Can I still take 30% off a 10 kW system?
HyreSolar does not install or finance solar systems. The figures above are other publishers’ published prices, dated and linked; none is a quote for your property. Prices vary with location, roof, equipment, electrical work and financing.