Solar Permit Cost: What You Will Pay in 2026
Written by HyreSolar Research Desk Price compilation from published, dated sources
The short answer
Solar Permit Cost depends mainly on your city or county’s fee schedule, system size and how many reviews it requires, and this page gives the range from dated, sourced figures. Across 13 published, dated sources retrieved October 22, 2026, the permit fee for a residential rooftop system typically runs $200–$600.
Your installer normally pulls the permit and passes the fee through in the quote. No 30% federal credit applies to a system a homeowner buys: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025 (what changed).
When you are ready
Ready to explore solar for your home?
If you have done your research and want to speak with a solar professional, HyreSolar can help you explore available options.
Free, with no obligation: a person at HyreSolar reads your request and gets back to you about it. Matching with solar professionals is not live yet, so this is not a quote, and nothing is shared with anyone until you agree.
Keep learningInstalled price range (15 quotes, dated)
Residential solar permit fee, per permit: $200–$600, the median low to the median high across the 13 comparable published figures below (2 more are listed in other units or bases and are not averaged in). The full spread runs from $100 to $2,000.
| Source | Published figure | Basis | Source date | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shovels | $100 to $500 | residential solar permit; median from Shovels permit data, past 12 months | 2026-04-28 | 2026-10-22 |
| PES Supply (Portlandia Electric Supply) | $150 to $1,500 | residential permit fees, rural to major metro | not stated (2026 guide) | 2026-10-22 |
| SolarTech | $200 to $2,000 | residential under 10 kW, building + electrical + inspection | 2026-04-19 | 2026-10-22 |
| SolarTech | $400 to $1,250 | residential up to 10 kW, all permit lines totalled | 2025-11-14 | 2026-10-22 |
| SaveOnEnergy | $300 | major US cities, minimum average | 2022-05-09 | 2026-10-22 |
| Solar Permit Solutions | $200 to $1,500 | residential installations | 2026-02-06 | 2026-10-22 |
| Solar Permit Solutions | $100 to $600 | California residential permits | 2026-06-09 | 2026-10-22 |
| Energyscape Renewables | $200 to $600 | most California residential projects | 2025-12-29 | 2026-10-22 |
| Solar Info Path | $150 to $500 | standard rooftop residential | not stated | 2026-10-22 |
| Portable Sun | $100 to $500 | residential building + electrical combined | 2026-05-18 | 2026-10-22 |
| InstaPermit | $350 to $750 | typical 6-10 kW system, most California cities, total | 2026-06-26 | 2026-10-22 |
| Williamstown Township, MI | $260 | flat fee, residential roof-mounted solar (one jurisdiction's schedule) | not stated | 2026-10-22 |
| Stanislaus County, CA | $500 | base fee, residential roof-mount up to 15 kW (one jurisdiction's schedule) | 2024 | 2026-10-22 |
| SurgePV | $800 to $1,600 (incl. interconnection) | permitting, inspection AND interconnection fees, 8 kW | 2026-07-19 | 2026-10-22 |
| EnergySage | $25 (SolarAPP+ application fee) | SolarAPP+ per-application fee paid by installer, on top of local fees | 2023-12-06 | 2026-10-22 |
Each row is a figure as the source states it, gross of incentives, not adjusted by us. The headline range is a HyreSolar calculation over these rows. No 30% federal credit is subtracted: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025.
Compare quotes from vetted solar installers Proposal analyzer
What moves the price of a solar permit
The authority having jurisdiction, your city or county building department, sets the fee.
Schedules use one of three structures: a flat fee for residential rooftop solar (Williamstown Township, Michigan, publishes a flat residential roof-mount fee), a base fee plus a per-kW charge above a size threshold, or a fee tied to the project’s valuation.
Separate electrical permits, plan review and inspection fees may be added on top, which is why published ranges are wide.
Some states cap the fee. California’s cap for residential systems is $450 plus $15 per kW above 15 kW (Energyscape summary of AB 1124); that is a statutory ceiling, not a market price. Ground-mounted arrays and systems with batteries often trigger extra reviews and higher fees than a plain rooftop job.
Jurisdictions using SolarAPP+, the automated permitting tool developed with the national lab formerly called NREL, issue code-compliant residential permits instantly; the installer pays a small per-application fee on top of the local fee (EnergySage). Utility interconnection fees are separate from the building permit and vary by utility.
Permit cost in context
| Question | Read |
|---|---|
| The whole installed price, permit included | Solar panel installation cost |
| Ground mounts, which often need more review | Ground mount solar cost |
| Adding storage, often a separate review | Add a battery to existing solar |
| How long approval and interconnection take | Interconnection timeline |
How to check a quote
- 1Ask for the permit line on its own
Request the actual permit, plan-review and inspection fees as pass-through lines, not folded into a soft-cost figure.
- 2Check your building department’s fee schedule
Most publish it online; compare the quoted fee with the schedule for your system size.
- 3Ask whether your jurisdiction uses SolarAPP+
Instant permitting can shorten the timeline; confirm the installer is registered to use it.
- 4Separate interconnection from permitting
The utility’s application fee is a different charge; make sure it is not counted twice.
Questions
How much does a solar permit cost?
Who pays for the solar permit?
Do I need a permit for solar panels?
Is the permit fee capped?
HyreSolar does not install or finance solar systems. The figures above are other publishers’ published prices, dated and linked; none is a quote for your property. Prices vary with location, roof, equipment, electrical work and financing.