HyreSolar

Powerwall 3 vs Enphase IQ Battery 5P: Which Is Right for Your Home

Sources retrieved 22 October 2026 · 2 sources listed

Written by HyreSolar Research Desk Primary-source research and fact checking

Quick answer

Powerwall 3 vs Enphase IQ Battery 5P comes down to upfront cost, lifetime savings and how long you plan to stay in the home; here is each factor side by side.

They are built differently. Powerwall 3 is one 13.5 kWh unit with a solar inverter inside it (six solar inputs, up to 20 kW of panels), so on a new install it replaces the solar inverter.

The IQ Battery 5P is a 5.0 kWh AC-coupled module that sits beside an existing or new Enphase microinverter system and is stacked to the size you need.

On paper Powerwall 3 starts larger motors (185 LRA against up to 48 A LRA per 5P) and delivers more power per unit; the 5P publishes a longer warranty with a cycle limit and a retention figure, and a stated chemistry.

Get quotes for both options

Cost side by side

Installed prices as other publishers state them, gross of incentives. Each range is the median published low to the median published high across at least 12 dated sources, retrieved October 21–22, 2026; the source rows sit on the linked cost page.

OptionPublished rangeSources
Powerwall 3, installed$13,000–$16,00017 dated
Home batteries generally, installed$9,000–$18,00017 dated

No 30% federal credit is subtracted: Section 25D ended for expenditures after December 31, 2025.

The two data sheets side by side

SpecificationTesla Powerwall 3Enphase IQ Battery 5P
Usable energy per unit13.5 kWh AC5.0 kWh
Continuous power per unit11.5 kW AC3.84 kVA (240 V)
Peak / motor start185 LRA load start7.68 kVA peak (32 A for 3 s, 25.6 A for 10 s); up to 48 A LRA, "may vary"
CouplingIntegrated solar inverter: 6 MPPTs, up to 20 kW solar inputAC-coupled; six embedded microinverters
ExpansionUp to 4 Powerwall 3 unitsModular; one unit per 20 A branch circuit
Round-trip efficiency89% solar-to-battery-to-home; 97.5% solar-to-home90% AC; 96% DC
ChemistryNot stated on the data sheetLithium iron phosphate (LFP)
Warranty10 years; no cycle, throughput or retention figure publishedUp to 15 years or 6,000 cycles, more than 60% capacity
Fire-test wording"Meets the unit level performance criteria of UL 9540A""Evaluated to UL 9540A" for propagation and reduced separation distance under named IRC, IFC and NFPA 855 sections
Weight130 kg (287 lb)78.9 kg (174 lb) installed

Tesla Powerwall 3 Datasheet (2024) and Enphase IQ Battery 5P data sheet DSH-00010-8.0, both read 22 October 2026. Efficiency figures use different test paths and are not directly comparable.

The real difference is how each connects

Powerwall 3 is DC-coupled to new panels. Its own inverter takes the solar strings directly, so solar charging the battery skips one conversion. Tesla quotes 97.5% from solar to the home and 89% for the full solar-to-battery-to-home trip. On an existing system with another brand’s inverter, Powerwall 3 is added on the AC side instead.

The IQ Battery 5P is AC-coupled by design. Each module has six grid-forming microinverters, so it connects on the home’s AC wiring and pairs naturally with Enphase microinverter arrays already on the roof.

That makes it the simpler retrofit to an Enphase system; Enphase quotes 90% AC round-trip efficiency and 96% on the DC side. The two companies measure different paths, so do not subtract one efficiency from the other. AC vs DC coupling explains what the extra conversion costs.

Matching the same backup need

Because the units are different sizes, compare systems, not boxes. Three IQ Battery 5P modules give 15 kWh and 11.5 kVA of continuous output, close to one Powerwall 3’s 13.5 kWh and 11.5 kW.

Their surge figures do not simply add the same way in every design, so ask the installer for the combined start rating of the proposed system against your largest motor’s nameplate LRA.

If you need only essentials (fridge, lights, internet, a furnace fan), one or two 5P units may be enough, which a single fixed-size Powerwall cannot match downward.

If you need to start a central air compressor or well pump, Powerwall 3’s published 185 LRA per unit is the figure to beat. The battery sizing tool works from your own load list.

Savings over 25 years

Both batteries earn money the same way: storing midday solar and using it during evening peak rates, which pays most on net billing and steep time-of-use tariffs.

Over 25 years the warranty terms matter more than a few points of efficiency.

The 5P’s 15 years or 6,000 cycles at more than 60% capacity is a guarantee about use; Powerwall 3’s 10 years with no published throughput or retention figure is a guarantee about time.

Either way, expect at least one replacement within 25 years, and no federal credit helps a homeowner buy one after December 31, 2025.

What to ask both installers

  1. 1
    The system’s combined start rating

    For a 5P stack, ask for the rating of the whole design, not one module; for Powerwall 3, it is 185 LRA per unit.

  2. 2
    Which circuits are backed up

    Get the list in writing and check your outage essentials are on it.

  3. 3
    Where each unit will be mounted

    Enphase’s installation guide restricts habitable-space installation; ask which document permits the location proposed for either product.

Which to choose if…

  1. 1
    You are installing new solar and battery together

    Powerwall 3’s built-in solar inverter can replace a separate inverter; get quotes on both architectures.

  2. 2
    You already have Enphase microinverters

    The IQ Battery 5P is the native AC-coupled add-on; ask about the controller and which circuits it backs up.

  3. 3
    You need to start a large motor

    Compare the motor’s LRA with 185 LRA (one Powerwall 3) and with the combined rating of the proposed 5P stack.

  4. 4
    You care most about warranty terms

    Read both documents; only the 5P publishes a cycle limit and an end-of-term capacity figure.

When you are ready

Ready to explore solar for your home?

If you have done your research and want to speak with a solar professional, HyreSolar can help you explore available options.

Free, with no obligation: a person at HyreSolar reads your request and gets back to you about it. Matching with solar professionals is not live yet, so this is not a quote, and nothing is shared with anyone until you agree.

Keep learning

We reply to every inquiry. Nothing is passed on to anyone you have not asked us to contact.

Questions

Is Powerwall 3 better than Enphase IQ Battery 5P?
We do not rank them; we have not tested either. On the data sheets, Powerwall 3 offers more energy, power and surge per unit; the 5P offers modular sizing, a stated LFP chemistry and a 15-year, 6,000-cycle warranty.
How many IQ Battery 5P units equal one Powerwall 3?
Three 5P units give 15 kWh and 11.5 kVA continuous, against 13.5 kWh and 11.5 kW for one Powerwall 3. Surge ratings must be checked for the specific design.
Can I add Powerwall 3 to Enphase microinverters?
Powerwall 3 can be installed on the AC side of an existing system; whether it suits your Enphase system is a design question for the installer.
What chemistry is Powerwall 3?
Its data sheet does not state one. The IQ Battery 5P sheet states lithium iron phosphate.

Sources & retrieval dates

  1. Tesla Powerwall 3 Datasheet (2024) , 13.5 kWh AC, 11.5 kW AC continuous, 185 LRA load start, 6 MPPTs and up to 20 kW of solar input, 89% solar-to-battery-to-home efficiency, up to 4 units, 10-year warranty, UL 9540A wording; no chemistry row and no cycle or throughput figure. Retrieved 22 October 2026.
  2. Enphase IQ Battery 5P data sheet (DSH-00010-8.0) , AC-coupled, 5.0 kWh usable, 3.84 kVA continuous, 7.68 kVA peak, up to 48 A LRA with the footnote "Power Start capability may vary", LFP chemistry, 90% AC and 96% DC round-trip efficiency, warranty of up to 15 years or 6,000 cycles at more than 60% capacity, UL 9540A wording. Retrieved 22 October 2026.

HyreSolar does not install, finance or sell solar. This page is general information, not tax, legal or financial advice; terms, prices and rules vary by state, utility and contract.